Greek-ed Out Handcrafted Yogurt

When we last saw our quart of yogurt, it looked like this:

all tucked in, cozy and warm, to incubate for the night.

The next morning, I unwrapped it and placed it, immediately into the fridge, to stop the lactic acid fermentation process. It had a sort of “jelly” consistency, and it was ready to eat just then.

But I like mine Greek-style, so there was one more process to undergo. I worked, today, so I just left it in the fridge until I returned home.

When I removed the lid, my yogurt looked like this:

and, when stirred, this: 

When I was ready, I assembled all the items needed to make my regular yogurt into that rich, thick Greek-style: 

 

I spooned the yogurt into the coffee filter-lined strainer 

It began dripping whey, immediately. I put the bowl/strainer/yogurt in the fridge and left it to drain for 2.5 hours.

When I took it out of the fridge, it looked like this 

and was THIS thick: 

yes, that is the spatula, standing on its own, in the strainer.

Greek, achieved!!!

Then, I just spooned it all back into the same jar I made it in (which has been in the fridge during drainage) for storage in the fridge.

Now, my handcrafted Greek-style yogurt is ready for a spoon full of jam, a drizzle of honey, a shot of pure vanilla, a hand full of granola, whatever!

My Yummy Fruit Dip/Dressing:

  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 2 tbsp raw, local honey
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp grated fresh ginger (or 1/4 tsp ground powder)

Blend gently but thoroughly and serve with your favorite fruit sliced, as a dip, dressed as fruit salad or as parfaits with chopped fruit salad and granola!

Enjoy the luxury of Greek-style yogurt on the seriously handcrafted cheap!

One thought on “Greek-ed Out Handcrafted Yogurt

  1. Pingback: 2 Months of Handcrafting… | AHandcraftedLife2014

Leave a Reply

