Frugal Friday, revisted

laundry soap, raw materials

laundry soap, raw materials

As promised, I am documenting the Laundry Soap experiment, here. The original recipe I used is from MyMerryMessyLife .

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup 20 Mule Team Borax
  • 1/2 cup Arm N Hammer Washing Soda (not baking soda. buy it in the laundry aisle)
  • 2 cups of water
borax and washing soda in water in saucepan

borax and washing soda in water in saucepan

Put the powders and the water in a saucepan and put it on the stove on high. Stirring regularly, if not constantly. Continue to stir

not yet, still gritty

not yet, still gritty

until the grit is entirely dissolved, and you no longer feel the grit when stirring. The result will be nearly clear

powder fully incorporated

powder fully incorporated

then add

  • 3/4 of a cup of Dr Bonner’s Magic Soap (I use lavender) and stir to fully incorporate
    adding Dr Bonner's castile soap

    adding Dr Bonner’s castile soap

    Then, fill 2 1 gallon containers (or a 2 gallon bucket, or whatever container system you have devised)  most of the way with hot tap water. Top off the containers with the mixture

topping off the gallon with the soap

topping off the gallon with the soap

Then add about 10-15 drops of essential oil into the jugs and shake it gently to mix.

Now, I was feeling a lack of confidence with the fully diluted product being soapy enough. It seemed really watered down to me. So I made a batch to spec and also left the rest 1:1 strength with water.

I will test both products and see how I feel about the performance.

both strengths

both strengths

I figure I can always dilute more, but I can’t undilute it, easily.

The recipe calls for using 1/3 of a cup per load. I will try this with the diluted version. But I am going to put the undiluted version in a sturdy plastic pump bottle I am reusing from a name brand detergent. It administers a small, concentrated amount, and this is what I, personally, am aiming for.

It smells amazing and I am excited to do some laundry later! (who would have imagined I might have that thought?!)

Frugal Friday rolls on!

UPDATE:

I used both dilutions and decided I liked it best full strength, in tiny amounts. I reused a pump bottle and it worked great. Just remember to shake the bottle periodically, say once each laundry day. Cold days it is thicker than hot days.

2 thoughts on “Frugal Friday, revisted

  1. Pingback: Laundry Soap: Update | AHandcraftedLife2014

  2. Pingback: 2 Months of Handcrafting… | AHandcraftedLife2014

Leave a Reply

