Learning From My Failures

I have attempted to make cheese 5 times. 3 times, it resulted in cheese (or presumed cheese, as 2 are still aging). Twice it ended in complete and utter failure.

In my continuing quest to use a scientific and analytic mind to examine failure and find my mistakes, I have discovered that both times I blew it, the cause was morning.

I have never been a morning person, but sometimes, when working an experiment, the next step needs to take place first thing in the morning. So, I have embraced this reality. The trouble is, my scientific brain doesn’t wake up until much later than my auto-pilot.

As I have been able to isolate the step I keep leaving out because I am brain-challenged at this time of day, I have found a very low-tech solution to my problem. Post It notes:

success comes with a reminder

success comes with a reminder

This way, it doesn’t matter that I am not fully awake. I know what to do next.

Another difficulty I have been having is keeping my cheesecloth in my strainer when I drain the whey from the curd. My Aha! moment happened when I realized a rubber band would keep the edges of my cloth in place as I drained. Another absolutely low-tech solution to my ghetto equipment problem. Here are both views:

rubber band holding the cheesecloth in place

rubber band holding the cheesecloth in place

a stable surface to drain the curd into

a stable surface to drain the curd into

As I celebrate my successes and learn from my mistakes, I find I am more excited than ever to be streamlining my process, increasing my success and building confidence to try new types of cheeses.

 

Leave a Reply

