Handcrafted Moisturizing Body Wash

In my obsessive quest to replace all my products with handcrafted replacements, both for quality of ingredients and health benefits, I have been very busy. I have used coconut oil to make so many things I have literally lost count of them all. I can’t get enough of this stuff!

Today’s mission was to handcraft a body wash I could truly love. I started with this recipe from diy natural. But, as always, I tweaked. Hey, it didn’t include extra virgin coconut oil! Mine contains this:

body wash raw ingredients

body wash raw ingredients

  • 2/3 cup castile soap (this batch, I used the last of the Dr. Bronner’s lavender. I just made my own liquid castile soap, today, but it won’t be ready until Friday afternoon. Next batch, it will be all mine! *See next blog post for instructions on the world’s cheapest, easiest liquid coco-castile soap)
  • 1/4 cup raw, unfiltered honey
  • 1 tbsp liquid-form (76 degrees+) extra virgin coconut oil
  • 100% pure lavender essential oil (you could also use peppermint, eucalyptus, geranium, ylang ylang, patchouli, tea tree…whatever you like)

Measure out and add all the ingredients in a pyrex measuring cup/pitcher, and stir to mix thoroughly. Then, pour into an empty body wash or liquid soap dispenser, or squeeze bottle of your choice. Label clearly and use immediately!

Boom!  Body Wash.

Boom!
Body Wash.

Wonderfully creamy lather makes skin feel soft and clean, and the coconut oil might make it so moisturizing that you won’t need lotion after your shower.

I am going to use this for my hand soap next to the sink, because with all the handcrafting I do, I wash my hands at least three hundred times a day. It isn’t drying to skin and cleans thoroughly.

Voila! Money-saving replacements for an Awesome America!!!

*Follow-up: I have found the body wash to be a little more drying than I would like, so as a follow-up to the wash, I keep a little tub of pure coconut oil in the shower, and once I am all clean, I pin my hair up in a clip, and smear the oil all over. My skin is never greasy, the towels never get stained, and my skin is nourished and moisturized all day, afterward. I no longer need lotion after my showers.

One thought on “Handcrafted Moisturizing Body Wash

  1. Pingback: 2 Months of Handcrafting… | AHandcraftedLife2014

Leave a Reply

