Handcrafted Liquid Castile Soap

As good (or better!) than Dr B’s, but cost $1.89 a quart to make*. Simple, fast, effective, and safe for the lake down the hill from my septic system drain-field.

I started with 1 bar of Kirk’s brand coco-castile soap. This is an all-natural bar soap, ingredients: Coconut Soap, Water, Vegetable Glycerin, Coconut Oil. 

the base

the base

I grated it with a hand grater. This was the hardest “work” of the whole project. It is a pretty solid bar, and if you have a food processor, you might want to chop it up in there. I don’t have one, or I would have.

kinda hard to grate, use a food processor if you have one

kinda hard to grate, use a food processor if you have one

 

Meanwhile, I put a quart of water into the tea kettle and boiled it. then, I added the still-boiling water to the grated soap and stirred until it was completely dissolved. It is a little bit slow, but it will happen. The smaller the soap bits, the faster the melt.

stir to dissolve soap bits

stir to dissolve soap bits

Once the soap is fully dissolved, I added a tablespoon of glycerin. This was added specifically to help keep my hands from drying while I was using this soap. I’m not sure it was even really necessary, but I had a good supply, so I used it. You can choose to use it or not. The soap is already very gentle and moisturizing, as all-natural soaps go.

adding glycerin for added moisture

adding glycerin for added moisture

Then, I put the liquid soap in a mason jar. The instructions for the liquid soap I found on youtube called for a 2 day rest on the counter, then a mix with an immersion blender on the second day. I did this, but as my soap had not separated at all, it was obviously unnecessary. I am also thinking the rest period was not too necessary, either. It was exactly the same, the day I made it.

store in tightly lidded jar

store in tightly lidded jar

This morning, I blended it and scented it with essential oil (lavender in my case, but I also toyed with the idea of peppermint for the dish soap), and shazaam! Liquid castile and coconut oil soap, every bit as good as commercial brands (Dr B’s) and soooooo much cheaper.

boom. quart of liquid coconut-castile soap for $1.89

boom. quart of liquid coconut-castile soap for $1.89

I will now be using this soap as the base for my body wash, laundry soap, and all my cleaning purposes. Cheap thrills for a more Awesome America!!! WOOT!

One thought on “Handcrafted Liquid Castile Soap

  1. Pingback: 2 Months of Handcrafting… | AHandcraftedLife2014

Leave a Reply

