Raw Strawberry Jam

I have become completely addicted to jam in my homemade yogurt, but I am also not happy with all the sugar in the jam I have been eating.

So, this Spring, I have decided to try some experimental jams that use little or no sugar, whatever. This batch is made of nothing but strawberries, chia seeds and water. My berries were so sweet and good I didn’t even add the honey I had planned to use to sweeten it.

The recipe comes from naturesnurture.com:

  • 1 cup fresh, washed berries
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp water
  • sweetener to taste

 

fresh, raw ingredients

fresh, raw ingredients

First, I washed and topped the berries and squished them into the measuring cup

1 cup berries, 1 tbsp chia seeds

1 cup berries, 1 tbsp chia seeds

Then, I added 1 tbsp of whole black chia seeds, which become very gel-ly when they get wet. They also have no flavor, whatever to interfere with the recipe’s taste.

adding the chia seeds

adding the chia seeds

My berries weren’t really super-juicy, so I added 1 tbsp of water.

adding water

adding water

Wait one hour, and boom. Jam!

jam!

jam!

I made one batch for now, which I will keep in the fridge, and one batch to try to freeze. I have no information on how this will affect the texture, so I am giving it a shot. Berry season is waaaayyyy too short to only be able to enjoy this when they are in season.

one for now, one for later!

one for now, one for later!

I will provide an quality control update, when I thaw the freezer batch.

Happy Berry Season!!!!

2 thoughts on “Raw Strawberry Jam

Leave a Reply

